2776 Hwy 27 – Bypass / LaFayette, GA 30728 / (706) 639-1511

picElectricDeptSince 1925 the City of LaFayette Electric Department has supplied electricity to the city of LaFayette and parts of Walker County.  The Electric Department maintains 95 miles of overhead and underground power lines, 2000 poles, and hundreds of transformers and switch gear to service approximately 3,900 meters. As a member of Municipal Electric Authority of Georgia (meagpower.org) the city purchases power through MEAG and receives and the power via the Georgia Integrated Transmission System (ITS) to two (2) substations.  Through the MEAG partnership, along with 49 other cities, LaFayette Electric Department has at its disposal a statewide generation and transmission corporation with ownership in four power plants in Georgia and a transmission system spanning the state. The City of LaFayette Electric Department is also an active member of Electric Cities of Georgia (ecoga.org), a membership of fifty-two Georgia cities with similar power needs and issues. ECG provides engineering services, safety training, and other highly technical specialized services involving system efficiency. Being a member of MEAG and ECG helps keep and maintain low rates for small municipal systems through greater purchasing and legislative leverage.  Through this partnership, the city is able to offer competitive rates to all customers regardless of the size of power needs.

The Electric Department has 10 employees; director, foreman, linemen, servicemen, power utility locate personnel, groundmen and an administrative assistant. The staff of the Electric Department is dedicated to improving service to our customers through routine maintenance, system upgrades and customer education programs.  All linemen are certificated through the ECG Lineman Apprentice Program or the Southeast Lineman Training Center and receive continuing power education. LaFayette Electric Department maintains a fleet of bucket and derrick trucks, and other general service vehicles. The Electric Department provides 24-hour service 365 days a year.

To report a power outage Monday – Friday 7:30 AM – 4:30 PM, call (706) 639-1511 or after 4:30 PM and on weekends and holidays call Walker County 911 on the non-emergency number at (706) 375-7810.

—> If you see downed power lines CALL-911 and STAY AWAY! <—

Queen City of the Highlands